Skip to content

The Building Code Part 7, Interior Finishes

November 10, 2011

The building code takes great measures to prevent the spread of fires throughout a building in several ways; sprinkler systems, fire walls, and also through regulating the flame spread of interior finishes. 

Flame spread is a test that measures a mateials likelihood of burning and spreading flames across it’s surface. There are three classifications for flame spread; A, B, & C. A being the least flammable and C being the most. Table 803.5 from Chapter 8 of the 2006 IBC lists flame spread clasification for required for each occupancy. Note that the flame spread classifications are decreased  in building that have sprinkler buildings.


Good luck on your next exam!


Other posts in this series;

Part 1 – Introduction

Part 2 – Use and Occupancy

Part 3 – Special requirements

Part 4 – General Building Height and Area Limitations

Part 5 – Types of Construction

Part 6 – Fire Resistant Construction

Part 7 – Interior Finishes

Part 8 – Means of Egress


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: